Delaware QSO Party

 The county designations are:

New Castle County     NDE

Kent County               KDE

Sussex County            SDE

Object: To contact as many in the Delaware Stations as possible.

Date: First full weekend in May

Contest Period: 1700Z, May 7 to 2359Z, May 8, 2022

Categories: Power categories are accounted for in the multiplier section of the rules.

Multi-Ops: Only Multi-Single is permitted..

Self-Spotting: Self-Spotting is permitted..


Exchange: Delaware stations send signal report and county. Stations outside Delaware send signal report and state, province or DX.


Valid Contacts: Work Delaware stations once per band and mode. Delaware stations work anyone. Delaware stations may contact other Delaware stations but contacts only count for QSO point credit.

QSO Points Stations inside DE, 1 point per phone QSO, 2 points for digital modes to include CW. Stations outside DE, 10 points per phone QSO, 20 points per digital QSO.


Multipliers: Delaware stations use, states, Canadian provinces, and DXCC countries. Stations outside Delaware use Delaware counties, New Castle (NDE), Kent (KDE), and Sussex (SDE). 

Work K3QBD the First State ARC club station for an additional 2x multiplier. Watch the website FSARC.ORG for updates on special stations that could be available as extra multipliers.

Power Multiplier: Stations not indicating power level within their log will be scored as operating with greater than 100 watts.
    -Greater than 100 watts (>100 watts), total score X1
    -100 watts or less (< = 100 watts) total score X2
    -5 watts or less (< = 5 watts), total score X3

Scoring: Final score = the total of QSO points X location multipliers X power multiplier, X extra multiplier bonus points, + 50 point electronic submission bonus if applicable.

Suggested frequencies: Phone: 1860, 3960, 7260, 14.280, 21,360, 28.360.  CW: 1825, 3550, 7050, 14.050, 21.050, 28.050. Digital modes per ARRL band plan.


FT8/FT4---WSJT-X contacts:

Stations using these modes must use the Field Day contest overlay in WSJT-X.

DELAWARE stations will use the county number below and letter combination, and “DE” as the section.

For NEW CASTLE COUNTY, the exchange needs to be 1A DE.

For KENT COUNTY, the exchange needs to be 2A DE.

For SUSSEX COUNTY, the exchange needs to be 3A DE

Out of state stations would use a 1A prefix followed by their ARRL/RAC section or DX.

Non-Delaware Examples:

For an Arizona contact, they would use “1A  AZ”.

A San Diego, California station would use a “1A SDG”.

A Pittsburg, PA station would use “1A WPA”.

Japan stations would use “1A DX”. 

Look for stations calling “CQ DE <CALLSIGN> FM29” or “CQ FD ,<CALLSIGN> FM29” for stations wanting Delaware contacts, where “<CALLSIGN>" is your callsign without brackets.

    All WSJT contacts must be submitted in a second Cabrillo log file named “<callsign>.cbr” (which is how WSJTX default labels the file—so do not change that name until after you have attached a copy to your entry)

   Please use frequencies 4kHz higher than the standard FT frequencies to avoid interference from the normal traffic

No paper logs with more than 50 contacts will be accepted for award credit.

Electronic entries are STRONGLY encouraged and should include a complete Cabrillo format log.

    If your software does not provide that option, please try out this link to convert your log into a cabrillo file.  Use this form to manually enter your Delaware QSO Party log data if you used paper logging or logging software that doesn't produce a Cabrillo file. The form software will convert your info into a properly formatted Cabrillo file and submit it to the contest sponsor for log checking. You will have the opportunity to view and confirm the Cabrillo file contents before it is submitted. Items in red are required.

    Logs should indicate times in UTC, bands, modes, calls and complete exchange.

    Cabrillo log filenames must be either 'urCall.log' or "urCall.cbr'. 

    Delaware stations should use the ARRL section designator DE as their location in the log setup.
    Non DE stations should use their ARRL Section or 2 letter state abbreviation.
    DX stations should use DX.

    Please remember if your software only outputs ADIF format there are many ADIF to Cabrillo converters available on the Internet.

    Paper entries are to use the provided summary and log sheets.

Awards will be presented to the following:

  • Top 3 scoring stations in Delaware
  • Top 3 scoring stations in each Delaware County
  • Top 3 scoring stations in the Continental United States
  • Top 3 DX stations

Electronic entries (carillo format preferred) must be sent via e-mail within 30 days to qsoparty at google's mail system:qsoparty at google's mail system

Make sure to put your call sign and DEQSO in Subject Line, example: (K3QBD DE QSO Party Log).

Paper logs with less than 50 contacts may be sent within 30 days to

  •     DE QSO Party P.O. Box 1050, Newark, Delaware 19715-1050